Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Sean

Today when I was in London I met Sean, sitting on a riverside wall just downstream from the Millennium Bridge.  I'm sorry, this means you miss the river shot I promised, because the river (and Tate Mod) is behind him.  He was happy to have me take his picture and seemed a gentle man, though with an acute sense of humour.

Sean told me he'd been a plumber in the House of Commons, where, apparently, the original Thomas Crapper WCs are installed.  We then had a conversation about Joseph Bazalgette, who cleaned up the Thames after The Great Stink by building the Embankments and containing within them London's main sewers (instead of it all flowing into the water).  We agreed that the Thames was our river, both having been born so near it.  "Anyway," he said, "we've all pee'd in it."  Well mate, you may have done!

The extra was taken on London Bridge.  I watched people walking across it for a little while and loved how the feeling of space makes gestures and moods expand.

Happy Friday night and I hope you have a great weekend planned  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.