Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Dill

Dill is a 16 year old South African spotted eagle owl who often comes to Salisbury's Saturday market with the team from Swan Rescue.  Today he was accompanied by a most beautiful barn owl (not available for pictures).  I had the camera very close to Dill, who was trying not to look, but when he did is was such a fiercely mesmerising experience I was almost frozen to the spot. 

In fact - to humans at least - he's very gentle and a great advertisement for this rescue centre, which cares for birds of prey as well as swans.  Dill came to them via the RSPCA.  His previous owners 'lost' him.

The extra is of the interior of the Church of St Thomas & St Edmund.  I walked into it by accident really, just being nosy, but I have to confess I gasped.  It's a huge airy space with medieval wall paintings which you can just see here and a glorious angel roof, which you probably can't.  On the altar at the top of the chancel steps was a lit candle, flowers and a picture of Jo Cox with a message which, I don't mind saying, brought tears to my eyes.

Enjoy your Saturday evening - I intend to enjoy mine :)  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.