Three

I've been feeling rather sombre today, and this muted trio of grass flowers seemed appropriate for my mood and fits in with the twist for Flower Friday. 

It's nine years since my Mum died on a similarly damp June day. Although I still miss her, I don't really feel sad. Indeed, in some ways I'm glad that she's no longer around to witness the events of the last weeks and months, and particularly the senseless murder of Jo Cox.

She was always so very optimistic about the future but I think she would be very saddened to see the rise of nationalism across Europe and the impact that continued austerity is having on society in the UK. Next week our country is going to be making a momentous decision, and I'm afraid many will be making it based on fear, mistrust and misinformation. A very sad state of affairs....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.