Not David Attenborough!

Wildlife does not always cooperate, so sometimes the photos are not that brilliant.
These swans live next to the road leading to the High Coast. Last year I watched them repair the nest, sit on their eggs, and eventually become a family.  
This is the first time I’ve driven by this year so I was glad to see swans on the nest.  On the way back I stopped, but as soon as I got out of the car they hopped off the nest and swam away, carefully protecting their 5 cygnets. (They are definitely not urban swans!)
So this was the best view I could manage.
The water at this point is very shallow so the reeds stick up out of the water, making it look more like a field than a lake.
Each year the reeds rot down and the water becomes a little shallower so in a hundred years this will be a field rather than a lake!  But the swans aren't fussed about that - for them this shallow water provides the perfect place to raise a family, if only those pesky motorists didn't stop their cars to gawp!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.