Red House Roof (Day 4)

The roof doesn't look too different to yesterday. There are two reasons for this.  The first is that there are a lot of details to fix. The rotten boards are removed and tomorrow I'll be down the wood yard to buy some replacement boards. I found a few suitable planks so that job is partly done.
All the old guttering fixers are removed and the roof is swept fairly clean, ready for the new underlay. There are a lot of old nails, bent over and hammered in and I've removed a lot of them and I'm thinking of removing them all, as they damaged the old underlay.
So, reason 1 was all the details that needed fixing. Reason 2 was that my appendix decided to grumble once more and working while the body fights off an infection is not very efficient. After just an hour I felt totally exhausted so I stopped for food, drink, and a rest, and then worked another hour. Only 3 hours of work today. 
Yesterday I carefully covered the roof with a tarpaulin, even though no rain was forecast. A good move! I woke in the middle of the night to hear rain falling. No rain forecast tonight either but the roof is covered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.