Sawflies...

I woke up this morning with my first toe on my right foot throbbing! It was so painful in fact that I went to the out of hours surgery to get it looked at.
As suspected it is a nail bed infection, and I am now taking antibiotics 4 times a day! I have had this problem once or twice before, and the antibiotics worked quite quickly  so hopefully it will be OK to go into work tomorrow.
I had to put some fuel in the car, so I popped back to look for the rare plant, but I still can't find it :-(  On my way back I stopped at the lovely church on the Hammerpond road the one that is supposed to be haunted   to see if the Heath spotted orchids were flowering this year.
I found what I think may be one, but there certainly not the amount that were there in 2014, I did however find this beauty in the grassy churchyard. 
I think this is a male Abia sreicea, a very lovely saw fly associated with Devil's bit scabious which grows freely in this location. It is quite local, with it's range restricted to southern England where the food plant grows.
Seeing this beauty made me realize that I have blipped very few saw flies, and they are very beautiful........I think I need to remedy that ASAP! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.