Dad's Favourite Car

The Austin Healey 3000 is my dad's favourite car. Today at a Classic Car show we stumbled across this burgundy one. Unusual to see one in this paint scheme. Dad told me the pale blue with cream interior is the best, "it just goes better!" he said.

A lovely few hours viewing classic cars, vintage motorbikes, showing dad my friend's beautiful Burrell traction engine and seeing lots of cute birds and animals from birds of prey to butterflies to pigs, goats, cows, chickens, ducks, giant rabbits, donkeys and lambs. I also played about with the slow mo function on my iPhone camera filming birds and butterflies.

Father's Day treat was a roast dinner cooked by moi and a framed Spitfire painting for my darling daddy. Feel so lucky to spend the day with mum and dad, just a shame my bro had to work and my bro-almost-in-law is recovering from a bug.

Thought lots about my late grandfathers and great grandfathers today and shared memories with dad. Turns out my paternal great grandfather Charlie was quite a Rover car man and owned many types over the years.

My paternal grandad (nickname 'Popsie' real name Bert) restored a beautiful MG-A but much to my dad's disappointment my nan sold it when grandad passed away. I don't think my dad has ever got over it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.