Show-Off Squirrel

This Douglas Squirrel -- a male, I think, so I'll call him Dennis -- put on quite a show for me this morning! He started off by sitting on the deck railing and cleaning himself very thoroughly, and then flung himself at the swinging bird feeder, lusting after the suet and seed cakes inside.

It was clear that Dennis was new to this challenge, as over the course of seven or eight minutes he tried a variety of ways to get into the feeder, two of which you can see in the extra photos.

Having finally squeezed his way in, Dennis lolled about, stuffing himself with food, for more than twelve minutes. I was worried that he wouldn't be able to get out again,  but by stretching himself out as much as possible, he managed to fit through one of the squares of the feeder.

While Dennis feasted, I took occasional breaks to photograph the adult and juvenile Downy Woodpeckers enthusiastically enjoying the suet and seed cake in the elevated, squirrel-proof feeder. 

And we have a new small mammal visiting us now -- but I'm going to save that surprise for another day!

Blip 1562

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.