Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Brindley Place, Birmingham

My home city.  I don't visit as much as I used to, but each time I go there things have changed again.  I remember when I went down to London for a Blipfuture Board Meeting my amazement at the number of high rise cranes that dotted the skyline and it seems like Birmingham is not far behind.

We had popped in to a showroom for garage doors (racey, I know!), just outside the city so decided to pop in to Brindley Place for lunch.  It really was very pleasant to walk around, although there were way too many bow ties being worn for a normal day.  It was only afterwards I noticed that the world congress of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists was taking place.  That explained a lot!


The other shot is one that hasn't been possible from outside Baskerville House since the early 1970s of Birmingham Council House.  It seems to be trying to tell me something that what I knew as the 'New" library, has now become the old, slowly being demolished library of Birmingham.  I remember standing outside it in 1977 to see the Queen visit Birmingham for her silver jubilee.  How time has moved on.


Please excuse a bit pf playfulness with the main image.  I found the flowers strewn in the small reflection pools in the square quite delightful (I wonder how often they are changed?), but decided to play with a very lazy version of colour popping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.