Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Mistake: Compounded

I popped out to the supermarket this afternoon and saw the sign for the garden 'center' as I passed by (even my autocorrect initially changed it to the correct 'British English' version!).  I thought it might make an amusing blip but didn't expect the error to be compounded in store.  I don't know how many times the staff had passed these signs, but no one seemed intent in making a correction.

Maybe correct spelling isn't important these days, as long as the intent is still there, it doesn't matter.  Certainly the abbreviated language of texting has had an impact and it is well reported the English language is evolving.  Anyone who has read the original verse of William Shakespeare will recognise that this has always been the case.  But, as someone taught in a grammar school this still jars, almost 40 years later.

Note to self:  Stop sounding like a grumpy old man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.