Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Looking towards the Sunrise

The brain is an amazing thing.  I'd realised that the Summer Solstice occurred today, clocked that sunrise was about 4:44 am and thought it would be great (if I woke up in time) to capture the sunrise.  I didn't set an alarm and typically I've been waking between 5:30 and 6:00 am most of the week.

This morning I woke up, realised it was still dark and looked at the bedside clock.  3:54 am!  Who would credit it?  I checked out the window to the west, some cloud but also clear, brightening sky.  I got up, was welcomed by the cat, who demanded my attention for some food and then I headed off to Chasewater to try and capture the sunrise.

I was so hopeful when these clouds sat above the sunrise position with only 15 minutes to go.  The swan even came over to pose for me, but I wanted the sunrise.  I was joined by another early riser, with his bridge camera, though his main reason was to run around the reservoir before work.  Even the deer were around, grazing nearby.  Unfortunately, as each minute passed the clouds swept away on a strong breeze.  I have shared the moment of sunrise as an extra, but it had none of the drama of this scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.