Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Fradley Junction

A busy day, starting by taking the cat back to the vets.  This time she'd got a bald patch under her tail, possibly due to over grooming.  She's had to have another dose of antibiotic and anti-inflammatory.  Poor girl, she was not happy.

That meant I started walking later than usual, a round trip from Lichfield, up the Coventry Canal to Fradley Junction before going cross country.  It was all going swimmingly until I encountered what can only be described as deep jungle.  I was reminded of Annie's (Of AnnieandChris) walk through nettles in shorts.  The similarities were immediately apparent; shorts - tick; overgrown footpath with nettles and brambles - tick.  Now I'm made of strong stuff (as is Annie) so I wasn't going to let this stop me but when the nettles started to tower over me (I'm 6 ft 2 in), it became apparent I wasn't going to win!  Checking the map I could see that there was more of the path through the wooded area to come than I'd walked through so I retraced my steps.  It is no word of a lie to say that my legs are still tingling 10 hours later!

What was going to be an 8 mile walk turned into 10 with the diversion and also meant I was rushing to get back to the car to make an appointment in the early afternoon.  I made it with seconds to spare.

The image is of Fradley Junction, which has been given the old fashioned treatment as, with the exception of the cars, it probably hasn't changed much in the last 100 or more years.

I've also added another false colour IR image from the walk as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.