Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Cricket

I was summoned inside with a, 'Come quickly and look at this Hilly!' 'Ah! speckled bush cricket Leptophyes punctatissima,' I thought to myself :)
The curved ovipositor turning upwards identified her as a female. She was covered in small dark brown spots with a light brown stripe on her back, busy washing and cleaning her antennae; just fascinating to watch. Flightless, more active at night they feed on leaves and flowers of a variety of plants. Not to be 'caught on the back foot' I rushed for the camera but she just wasn't playing cricket - turning her back on me deliberately it seemed. When I moved, she turned, bouncing onto the window pane just for a second which is where this image was taken. I grabbed the chance.
Afterwards not being stumped with what to do with it, I popped it into a box and put it in the field.

I know she's got one fine leg and one silly point but just loved the silhouette. This maiden was bowled over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.