Gildencroft, Norwich

Blipfoto is a window where, in short bursts, we can glimpse into each others lives. I moan a lot about mine, I know. But the "people watching" also reminds me there are people struggling with everyday tasks. People who perhaps on the outside look like they have the perfect life, but beneath the surface you find have struggles they don't talk about until they burst, and then it all comes flooding out. For me, it is like a diary. So i pretty much say what I'm thinking. Good or bad. The photo is the least important part.

However, saying that, today I went out of my way for a photo of a pretty piece of Norwich I pass every day on the bus.

This row of cottages run alongside St Augustine's church. My colleagues at work told me they are called Gildencroft, so I googled it. The website Norwich Heritage has a huge amount of interesting information, which I plan to revisit on a bigger screen, rather than my phone. It explains that the area all around St Augustine's church was a public open space, with only a very small amount remaining to this day. I went on to read that in medieval Norwich there was an area called Jousting Acre where Norwich's knights practiced jousting, archery and other martial skills.
Apparently Edward I decreed that the only sport that could be played on a sunday was archery, and it is known that his grandson Edward III attended a grand tournament in Norwich on St Valentines day, 1340. It is not known where it was held, but it's quite likely to have been at the Gildencroft's Jousting Acre as this was one of few open space's within the city walls.

I did a long circular walk, coming back down Oak Street, then across to Colegate and back to work. I made a mental note of more future places to photograph and blip. Also, I passed many others that have already had that privilege. I think I will have to plot all my blips on a map of Norwich and see where to go next.

While I was at work, it was all going on at home. Cement was delivered so the holes were filled. The conservatory was also delivered and is now in (many) bits in the garage. Things are moving in the right direction.

I got home at 5.30 but haven't really achieved much. The house is very cluttered so I went upstairs to listen to The Archers and then fell asleep. At 8 o'clock I forced myself to get up again, but now I am wondering why I bothered, as i haven't really done anything.

So now I'm going to bed.

Did I tell you a bird pooped on my head, cardigan and bag at lunchtime? Several people told me it was lucky. I hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.