Caught in a kowhai tree

First, I will express my exasperation. I did a relatively delicate crop of this only to be given a message that there was no EXIF data. Three times I tried, three times it was "rejected"; I know, accepted subject to decision by a moderator. But I have no idea why there was no EXIF data as it shows on my photo in iPhoto. So, I have returned to the picture as it came from the camera, and it has been accepted.

On my run this morning the sunrise was only noticeable by way of its effects on the sky well above the horizon. I was heading out along the ridge top road, and saw some rather nice colours and clouds, with snatches of blue sky. The wind was so strong that where I stopped to take the picture, I actually couldn't stand still. The end results were unpleasing, in comparison with this.

Just as I arrived back at the beach house, the mocking call of a tui caught my attention. There it was in the neighbour's kowhai tree. I managed this one picture before it took off and crossed the road to another tree, higher up and hidden by leaves. Joined by another tui, and both proceeded to mock me.

However, this time I think I won. I have caught a reasonable if slightly imperfect image of a tui in a kowhai.

Much better in large.

The morning I spent on a report. The afternoon I did some gardening with S. So satisfying. This evening I have watched a little of the rowing from day 1; recalled the Australian attitude when NZ scored more gold medals at an Olympics than they did (1984); they were all won sitting down. Rowing, canoeing, yachting and equestrian. Our rowers certainly performed well on day 1.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.