Early colour

Interesting day. Slept late and had barely got up and put the kettle on when I got a txt from Mr H asking if I was home. He had decided that a wet and windy Saturday morning on the sidelines while brother Young L played soccer (football) was not his idea of fun. Especially when it involved a 45 minute drive each way; the game was being played in south South Auckland.

I had  someone to see for a Court report and went off for a couple of hours, and when I got back Young L was here with C. Quite disinterested in me after saying hello (too attracted by the rectangular source of moving light and shapes). Needed to be prompted to tell me that his team had won. This follows winning both the previous two games, and is a real turn around from a year ago, when they didn't seem able to score any goals (shades of England there!). Young L plays midfield or defence, and is happy just playing.

The afternoon involved a number of tasks that fail to excite but are necessary; such as buying food. Arrived back from that to find J here and keen to discuss Brexit. (I should note here that my first exposure to this term was as the answer to a crossword puzzle clue, and I thought it had to be wrong.) Fascinating political manouevres await the UK. Will the kingdom (currently a queendom) cease to exist? Is Westminster more or less valuable than Brussels to those in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland?

Meanwhile, only Scotland of the parts of the two islands whence came many of my ancestors is not still involved in the European Football Championships (which do not interest Young L in the slightest; he is into playing, not watching). And tonight is the third of the three test series NZ v Wales. Might watch again; I'm well past my play by date.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.