Black Friday

I woke up just before 6am to the devastating news that we have left the EU. I can honestly say I'm totally shocked, upset and worried for our future and that of our children and grandchildren. I felt sick!

The pound is at an all time low, with the UK economy losing $350 billion value within two hours. Or 40 years' worth of 'unaffordable' EU contributions! The promises of £350 million per week going into the NHS, turn out to be a 'mistake' - well what a surprise! Our credit rating and the value of our passport have dropped, our Prime Minister resigns - this is a very big hole that's going to take some climbing out of!

Asides from that, it was a beautiful sunny day so I took Alison to David Lloyd in Worthing (some 20 miles along the coast) as they have an outside pool. The plan was to have a bit of lunch, swim and relax, but it didn't quite work out that way. The Sat Nav indicated that there were delays and it would take an hour and a half to get there, so I chose an alternative route that was 8 miles longer but we'd get there quicker. It turned out to be the scenic route, and we passed these purple fields. They looked stunning so I turned into the driveway of Long Furlong Barn so that I could take a picture. Unfortunately I didn't have my camera with me so it had to be a phone shot.

Anyway, we got to David Lloyd, decided to have lunch first and went outside to get a table, only to see that there was no water in the outdoor pool - it was closed for refurbishment! We had lunch and then decided that we'd drive 38 miles in the opposite direction to the David Lloyd in Eastbourne - I called them first though to make sure their pool was open, and thankfully it was!

It was a good decision, the pool was lovely and very quiet with plenty of sun loungers. Alison sunbathed while I swam and after managing to swim a mile (64 lengths) yesterday, I decided to do the same today! It took me 55 minutes, but I did it :-)

Tonight we had another girls night out with Elif, Sian and Lisa-Jane - drinks at the White Horse sat overlooking the sea and then dinner at the Franks French restaurant it Rottingdean. It was a fun night, although rather raucous!

Update - I've just heard that there's a petition for a second referendum, if you voted to Remain, please sign this petition https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/131215?utm_source=Viber&utm_medium=Chat&utm_campaign=Private

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.