Leaving the ferry, Craignure

I was listening to the radio at 4.00  am having got only a few hours sleep.  I went to bed moderately confident  that "Remain" would win  but awoke, however, to the virtual certainty of a "Leave" victory thought not in Scotland where every single one of the local authority areas voted to stay in Europe.

I then drove to Oban to get the ferry to Mull for a long arranged day of surgeries and meetings.  I heard David Cameron's resignation on a crackly AM signal coming through the Pass of Brander (the worst part of the journey for radio reception) and on the pier waiting for the ferry , as well as on the ferry itself, lots of people wanted to talk about their trepidation at what was taking place.

This  rather threatening image seemed appropriate for that part of the day and I caught it as I picked up the key for Craignure Hall at the Visitor Centre.  But later on , after Nicola's press conference  (which set exactly the right tone and gave exactly the right message) there was a growing realisation that Scotland could choose not to leave and that produced the beginnings of a buzz about the future which was much more positive.   

That is perhaps reflected in my extra photo, taken in the late afternoon as I waited for the ferry back to Oban on my way home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.