Slow clap Britain

The first sunny morning for a long time - almost like the weather had planned to be so ironic.

Cried during morning ablutions and on the cycle to work when I was stopped at a junction and an old guy put his arm around me and said he felt 'suicidal'. Luckily was stuck in interviews all day so dwelt less than I otherwise would, with interviewees in random locations such as Sierra Leone expressing their surprise.

There is such an ideological divide in this country between those who bang on about sovereignty and nationalism and those who want to integrate as much as possible with the rest of the world. I haven't heard anything like the number of convincing arguments that can make me think this is going to end up with UK society benefiting. And that's the tragic thing as so many have been duped into thinking it will; effectively voting on a sense of disenchantment and falling living standards that are simply not the result of our EU membership or the taxpaying Bulgarians who happen to be attending the dentist's surgery at the same time as them.

I have never felt less patriotic or more embarrassed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.