Orange (wet) rose

Woke up this morning to the radio, sadly the last 24 hours wasn't a horrible nightmare, the UK has indeed voted for national suicide. Now the Leave Campaign have no idea what to do but have pretty much renounced 100% of everything they promised and they aren't even in government yet.

We went for a short 39 km bike ride this morning. Rather nice loop that I did a few weeks ago, only this time I didn't get lost. We got rained on twice and I had a puncture to deal with before we even left the house. From now on every problem in the world will be the result of Westminster and I want Hampshire to leave the Union. So it must be the Westminstercrats that have made Hampshire's road network so bad. I mean sending all my tax money to Westminster and they spend it on other counties, that's outrageous!

After the bike ride we made lunch, with imported food - that's going to get expensive in the next few months as the pound finds it's new lower level... We buy Hampshire food whenever possible, but there isn't a lot of it, and we logically buy English next and so on trying to reduce food miles, but even so the UK isn't self sufficient for food and never has been...

I then considered my options. I suspect I'll be made redundant next year. I'm not sure exactly when, but the office move was going to make things awkward but the Brexit has pretty much killed my (and millions of others who work for multi-nationals) career in the UK dead. While the pound will be lower and our house will devalue the best option may be to sell up, and leave a sinking ship with whatever we can and escape to another country.

As you can see from one of my extras I need to learn French. My better half is French (another complication post Brexit) and so the best option is to leave to Brittany to be with her family. My French is dire, I can follow the gist of conversations if people speak slowly, and one at a time, but that's about it. I did French in school for three years but conjugating verbs wasn't very useful to me so far in life and has largely been forgotten.

Today's main blip is an orange rose after the rain. It has been rather sunshine and showers today. Sadly unlike hailstorm, Brexit is for life.

This evening I'll place a lot of orders for stuff, because once the pound has finished falling, everything I want to buy will be a lot more expensive, best buy now before everything starts to go up in price. I would have always preferred to buy made in the UK stuff, but we gave up on manufacturing in the 70s and 80s when we thought you could run a country on banking and retail. Don't think banking and retail are going to work very well in a Brexit world either.

I may be bitter and cynical but that does not make me wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.