Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

One of Those Days

I've had a terrible headache over the course of the last three days.  So much so that I haven't been able to sleep (and some of you know how elusive that can be for me at times).  This morning it was so bad that I couldn't even keep water down. I don't  know what took me so long to recognize the source.  It was the pain at the base of my skull. I was  laying on my back on the sofa when it dawned on me.

I suffer from chronic neck pain and am treated every 90 days with a series of Botox injections.  Because of my hospitalization in February, I missed my appointment and had to wait until last week. This time they weren't quite as effective as usual, probably because I hadn't had them since early November.

For some reason, I had blocked out of my mind how to get through it when it's bad.Then I remembered that I am supposed to take a muscle relaxer and put the soft collar on for a while.  It's not a long term thing...just a few hours to relieve the stress and weight of my head from my neck and shoulders. 

I wish I could say my headache has been vanquished but it is not as bad.   The good news is that my neck felt a whole lot better after the treatment.  Hopefully, tonight I'll get some solid Zzzzz's.

The news the last few days has been frightful.  The Brexit vote stunned me. I stayed up to watch the ITV coverage and follow the results on BBC News.  It also cost me thousands of dollars from my retirement account.  I hope the "movement of regret" is successful.  I guess people believe what they want to believe.  Btw, Scotland, I apologize on behalf of all Americans for the dip-wad who flew in on his own helicopter and spouted off his mouth. 

There are devastating killer floods in West Virginia and an out-of-control wildfire burning hundreds of homes in the Los Angeles area.  The images of all these events are horrifying.

On the bright side,
the sit -in on the floor of the House of Representatives demanding a vote on sensible gun legislation made me proud to be a Democrat.  While my party was engaged in the struggle to make the citizens of this country just a little safer, the Republicans went ahead with a vote to throw out fiduciary ethics which would enable financial advisors to NOT act in the best interests of their clients. Amazing difference in priorities.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.