Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Food!

This hungry house finch snatched some nutrition early today.  It was a long day.  Hot, muggy, uncomfortable.

The morning started out with me arriving at church late.  I had forgotten to bring a bottle of water with me and had to double back to Walgreen's to pick some up.  Ever since I passed out in church this time of year a couple of years ago, I bring some with me every week.

I had a better time than usual at breakfast with my Italian Catholic Federation friends.  It's all where you sit at the long table (there's usually 15-20 of us).  Today I sat near Joanne.  I had no idea she was as into birds as she is.  We have a lot of other things in common, too.  We both grew up in Western New York, are Buffalo Bills fans, love baseball plus we're within 2 years in age of each other.  That's unique since of all my other friends, the closet in age to me is 8 years older.

Mom wasn't feeling too great when I got to her house before Mass so she didn't come with me.  I brought her a pancake.  Staying with her through dinner, I left earlier than usual because we could hear a thunderstorm rolling in and I wanted to beat the rain home before it got dark.

It was a good day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.