Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Fifteen Minutes Of Fame

For seven years, I served as president of an organization called the Democratic Women in Action. On 1 March 2014, the group was forced to dissolve.  I had decided to give up my presidency in order to spend more time with my mom, despite knowing that this important group would no longer exist (no one stepped forward to replace me). There was a feature article about me and the group in the local paper before we rode into the sunset.  But for today's MonoMonday theme of 15 minutes of fame, I chose to highlight our last program; it was a celebration of what we had accomplished.

In attendance were former and current State and County elected officials, other local leaders and Congressman Ron Barber*.  He raised a glass of sparkly to toast the club, presented me with a gorgeous bouquet of flowers and the framed letter you see here. The last paragraph, which is not visible, reads as follows:

Your voice and your presence in Southern Arizona will be missed. We extend to you and to the Green Valley Democratic Women in Action our most sincere gratitude for your hard work and your lifetime of service.

*Ron Barber served as Congresswoman Gabby Gifford's District Director.  During the Tucson massacre on  8 January 2011, (the day of the Giffords assassination attempt) he was shot in the thigh and face.  Six people died that day and 13 others were wounded.  He succeeded Gabby in Congress but lost his seat in 2014 by 121 votes (220,254 were cast).
A blip of me and Ron on election eve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.