DERELICT SUNDAY

After a good service at church, with an excellent sermon, we went out searching for dereliction.  We didn’t have to go far though, because on our favourite road from Chiseldon to Liddington, there are quite a lot of old, derelict buildings and pieces of farm machinery, so we know where to go.

When we were travelling on this road a few days ago, I noticed a derelict and mangled barn structure and thought that I could use it - not realising that our large hospital could be seen through the derelict iron girders, standing tall as a beacon of hope to all who need to go there for whatever reason.

It spoke to me about the situation we find ourselves in as a country at the moment - there may very well be a feeling that we have been let down and perhaps even mangled but if we look closely, and work together, in love and unity, we will see that through all that has gone on over the last few days, there is hope for our future.

My extra photograph shows a robin in amongst another derelict barn;  it was obviously nesting there and feeding its young - maybe not the best place to be - but there is clearly sufficient food and shelter there for this little robin family, so why would it go anywhere else?

The Lord reached down from on high 
     and took hold of me;
          he drew me out of deep waters.
He rescued me from my powerful enemy,
     from my foes, who were too strong for me.
They confronted me in the day of my disaster,
      but the Lord was my support.
He brought me out into a spacious place;
     he rescued me 
          because he delighted in me.
Psalm 18 : 16-19 
New International Version

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.