SILLY SATURDAY

Frivolous - not serious or sensible in content, attitude or behaviour;  silly

Sometimes in life, we have to stop being so serious - I am sure you get my drift - lighten up, be a little frivolous - or as my Guernsey friend, Karen and I say to each other, “Get Over It” or GOI for short and again, I don’t think I need to explain - those who live in the UK will just know what I mean.

Today, 25th June, is six months away from Christmas.  We decided a couple of years ago that as we have a spare bedroom, we wouldn’t bother to de-light our tree, but would carry it upstairs complete with lights - and then we wouldn’t have the problem of separating two lots of lights the following Christmas.  It worked very well - and saved a lot of angst, so we did the same thing last year.  Goodness knows what we will do if ever we move to a smaller house - guess it might have to stay in the corner of our lounge all year!

Today, I decided I would plug in both sets of lights to check that they were still working - and they were - which is great.  Mr. HCB thought I had gone even loopier, but that’s OK - I can live with that and at least it made us both laugh - and as a special treat, I took the photograph wearing my pink robe and slippers!

There is a wonderful quote attributed to Maya Angelou that says:

“I've learned that 
     no matter what happens, 
          or how bad it seems today, 
               life does go on, 
                    and it will be better tomorrow. 
I've learned that
     you can tell a lot about a person 
          by the way he/she handles these three things:
               a rainy day, 
                    lost luggage, 
and tangled Christmas tree lights…..”

So perhaps we all need to lighten up and GOI - life goes on so do we really want to spend the rest of our days being miserable and grumpy or do we want to light up someone’s life.  I know which I would rather do! Have a great weekend and whatever you do, be blessed and bless someone else too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.