Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Blossoming in profusion

One of our darker flowerbeds is shaded by a birch, a lilac and an apple tree. We have some perennials that do well there but it's always hard to choose plants that will be showy. This year the bed is crowded with these lovely flowers. There is a but, a big BUT, because you will see that these are the flowers of ground elder, an invasive weed.

I have allowed them to show off this year and I fear I may regret the decision in years to come!

Mum's sore throat continues so we've had a quiet day at home. There has been tennis to distract us as well as our word game. I've done some photo editing. I might get used to having gentle days like this one.

The man from Amazon came with the parasol base for the new bird feeder. As usual the satnav had taken him up Burn Lane, but he was very cheerful, enjoying the sunshine and the drive.

There was a very interesting discussion about food on Start the Week this morning with global perspectives I was not aware of. The section about the Ministry of Food in WWI was fascinating. Do listen if you can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.