I'm all ears ....

We started our day by going to a program at a Wild Bird Centers store on bird strikes.  Before the program we knew that there was a huge issue with birds dying from striking windows, but we had no idea how big the problem really was.  The numbers were unbelievable ..... between 365 and 988 millions of birds die each year in the US alone from crashing into windows. 

At the program we learned of different techniques and products that are designed to minimize bird strikes.  We picked up some good pointers that we intend to put to use. 

After the program we headed over to the Trexler Nature Preserve so that R could see the new bison calf that was born this Spring.   I have added a couple of bison pictures to Flickr that I took of the calf.  I was little closer this time than last time I was there. He/she is still so cute!  But I felt so sorry for it as the flies were bothering it so badly! At one point it just took off running trying to get away from the flies!  Poor thing!

 I took this picture of these whitetail deer as we were driving to the North range of the preserve.  While at this location we had a new bird sighting ... a blue grosbeak!!  What a beautiful bird!  I did get a few shots of him, but they were taken from quite a distance and were not good! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.