MYSTERIOUS ABSTRACT

My contribution to the Abstract Thursday challenge, so wonderfully hosted by youoregon1. The theme is mystery and I show the change of a decayed hollyhock flower turned into a mask. The original photo as an extra.

There are little mysteries, daily mysteries, which can be solved most of the time, if one only could have the time for it.
'My friend seems mad at me, it is a mystery to me why.'
'I have a friend who loves me, but it keeps a mystery to me why he does.'

There are the ancient greek mysteries, and the christian mysteries, both
part of our western heritage. In my youth I had to believe the roman catholic mysteries, they were strange, but did not affect so much my daily life and concerns.

Today I read a wonderful story, it's from the Livre di thé, written by Okakura Kakuzo, and it tells (I keep it short) of the making of a harp by a whizzard from a very high Kiri tree. Nobody however could play this instrument in a heavenly way.
Then Peiwoh, the prince of the harpists came along and he carressed the harp and played several pieces of music, Songs of nature, the four seasons, and he played of love, and of war, and the different weathertypes. The listeners were enchanted and surprised too.
He was asked what the secret was of his triumph and his answer was this: "All who played have failed , because they only song of themselves, I, however, have let the harp choose the theme and really I did not know  if the harp was Peiwoh, or Peihow was the harp."

My haiku:

It lay neglected
Till I came and left it up
The change came quickly

And the proverb:

Meum and tuum.

(Latin= Mine and Thine)
1550 Polydore Vergil, 438.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.