FLOWER FRIDAY - WITH A TWIST

I was out early this morning taking photographs and hoped that I would get something before the rain came again.  I rather liked this peony that is definitely past its prime, but it’s a bit like I’m feeling at the moment.  Not sure why except that having done a lot of bending and stretching in the garden of late, my knees have been very sore - in fact, I even resorted to taking some painkillers yesterday, which is not like me.

I wasn’t happy with the photographs I had taken, so went back out into the garden and the “twist” for me was that I stumbled and fell - but there were two saving graces.  One was that I fell “up” onto the grass and the second was that I didn’t have my camera in my hands.  So, hopefully “all’s well that ends well” and there will be no lasting effects from my fall.  I nearly forgot the third saving grace - I was wearing my pink robe, so that probably cushioned the fall!

I thought of the poem that says “He that is down needs fear no fall” and as I looked around to make sure Mr. HCB wasn’t watching, that was so true, so as fast as I could, I scrambled up and all that was hurt was my pride!

He that is down needs fear no fall;
He that is low, no pride;
He that is humble, ever shall
Have God to be his guide.

I am content with what I have,
Little be it, or much;
And, Lord, contentment still I crave,
Because Thou savest such.

John Bunyan, quoted in Anthology of Jesus

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.