I'VE BEEN WAITING A LONG TIME!

We went to our usual Saturday morning meeting place at Jack’s Café in Old Town where we met our various friends and also our older son, who is going on holiday tomorrow - and it was good to see them all.

It really is just like a Coffee Club - we know all the staff and many of the customers too so there is always someone interesting to chat to and there was a good “buzz” of conversation all around us today.

However, it’s going to be a bit sparse for the next couple of weeks - with some of our friends being away for the next month, our son and his family away and Mr. HCB going off to the Cricket Festival at Cheltenham every day for the next two weeks, so I guess I had better find out the times of the buses into Old Town.

We popped into the opticians for them to adjust Mr. HCB’s glasses again, and whilst in there, I noticed that there was a sale at Willoby’s, the furniture shop across the road, where we bought our sideboard and coffee tables - so of course, had to pop in to see if they had any good offers.  

They didn’t have quite what we wanted, so we didn’t buy anything today, but I did see this wooden skull and it amused me that it was just under a clock - so here is my offering for Silly Saturday.  I didn’t see how much it cost, but it’s not our sort of thing, so it doesn’t really matter.

Of the 206 bones in the human body, there are 22 in the human skull - 8 cranial bones and 14 facial skeleton bones - just thought you might like to know that fact - it could be useful for those who regularly take part in quizzes - like fellow Blipper, Mindseye.

On the way back to the car, we met Ray, someone I used to work with many years ago, and who used to present a programme on Hospital Radio.  He told us he now presents a Sunday afternoon programme on Swindon 105.5 - I told him I had seen something about this in a local magazine and had thought about getting in touch to see if I could help in any way - which he encouraged me to do - so perhaps I will and who knows, it could be the start of another big adventure!

“Patience is not
     the ability to wait,
          but how you act
               while you’re waiting.”
Joyce Meyer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.