carliewired

By carliewired

Broken

One half of a green
sapling fell to the ground in
a very high wind. 

~ carliewired

In the jungle that is my backyard, some volunteer trees appeared out of nowhere last year. One might assume they are the result of a bird's droppings. This kind of tree is not to be seen anywhere in the vicinity, so I must guess the seeds were transported to my yard. They anchored themselves in a space that was formerly  occupied by a dilapidated deck.  

I was curious to see what they were to become, so last year they were not removed although they were situated in such a way as to possibly block my view as they grew. 

When I returned home this spring they were bare but already stretching up fast. They leafed out and produced great bunches of white flowers very grape-like in appearance. These flowers soon became seed pods that look like peas or beans. I had guessed these trees were black locusts but that has not been confirmed. 

On Canada Day (yesterday) winds came up and thrashed these young trees rather severely. I woke up this morning to see the largest had split vertically with one half of the main trunk falling over onto an old brick barbeque. It did open up the view from my deck once again, but I am a little sad to see it lying on the ground today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.