Reflection on Lake Opuha

Another great 'Winter' day for a Sunday drive, and this time we headed out towards Fairlie, gateway to the Mackenzie District.

Our main aim was to go and pick up some pie and pastries from the excellent Fairlie Bakehouse (the lunch of champions, surely) but on the way I was keen to give my legs - and photographic muscles - a bit of a stretch. After turning down towards Ashwick Flat from the hills above the Fairlie basin we made our way down to the shore at Lake Opuha.

The lake levels are low (we've not had much rain and the inflows are down) so the relatively still water offered great reflections of the Sherwood Range on the other side of the lake. Using a polariser and 1.8ND filter I went for a 2" exposure to help the mirror effect and slow the clouds across the sky.

On the recovery front, I'm now able to manage with one crutch, and I have been taking my first steps without any aids. I'm pretty happy to be at this stage already. Next stop - physio. Woop woop!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.