Coffee and Cake

What I did not mention yesterday, was that I took my MacBook Pro laptop into the Apple shop as it was locked in a permanent loop and could not boot up to operate.  They said it would take three to five days to sort out, but when I got home they phoned me to say it was fixed they had replaced the cable, but erased everything that was on it.  Today Mrs GOG and I went into Cambridge to collect it, which we did and then, we had a wander around The Whipple and the Anthropology Museums; it was my birthday and we thought we would enjoy it.  During the day we had several stops for food and drink and this is a picture of me at the last one, Starbucks, as we were about to leave for home with my working computer.
 

Upon getting home, I turned my computer one and it worked beautifully, I reloaded all of the data, including the latest system updates from Mac and immediately restored the problem.  There is obviously an interaction between one of their latest software updates and my operating system.  I am one of the Beta software testers for the pre-release systems and updates, so although this sort of thing is extremely unusual, it is not unknown.  Tomorrow I will take it back to Cambridge so that they can restore the system to the state it was in when I collected it, which should take only minutes.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.