Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Thai Festival

Having spent hours at the Hat Fair yesterday and Friday I decided not to go again today.  It is anyway my least favourite of the 3 days, with the event moving up to Oram's Arbour (green space out of the city centre) and having a more family/community slant.  Besides, I'd seen most of the acts I wanted to.  So instead I went to the almost-free Thai Festival in Mayflower Park (Southampton).

When I first got there I thought I might have made a bad mistake, it seemed to be nothing but Thai food, charity stalls and bouncy castles - all great in their way, but not what I wanted to blip.  However, the sun came out and so did the dancers and a fashion show.

The fashion show was a competition between 10 women who had all made their outfits (a mix of Thai and modern).  Three of them brought their little girls, also in costume.  These are two of them.  The girl in the green dress had a train which was stiffened so she could hold it up like a peacock tail.  That's what she's doing here.  Her friend was wearing a froth of pink.

I have to say the  designs, making and attention to detail were breathtaking.  There's an extra of one of the adults and also of a dancer.  So that's the end of my festival weekend.  Phew!  Back to real life tomorrow.

Happy Sunday evening and wishing you all a good start to the week  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.