schuylergrace

By schuylergrace

Hummingbird Holiday

Our hummingbirds celebrate Independence Day with their own brand of fireworks.  I try not to let all the goings-on on this side of the pond get me down too much, but I'm reminded what a great nation the United States of America once was by the coming of our celebration of hard-won independence from The Kingdom of Great Britain.  But after much progress from our humble beginnings, we've seemed to take giant steps backward over the last few decades.  It hurts my heart to see how racist and xenophobic and generally intolerant and hateful we've become under "leaders" who've played upon our fears to further their own careers and make their own fortunes.  And it's no consolation that we are not alone.  But the hummingbirds don't care, and they still celebrate every day with their own fireworks.  I like the way hummingbirds think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.