Busy Izzy!

Just a quick visit to the allotment this am to open the coop . Izzy has finished being broody and is darting here and there and keeping out of the way of the bigger girls! Here she is filling her beak with Layers Mash, she just makes me laugh!    I had to wedge the bowl  between the wood as when the bigger girls try this they knock it over! 
Home to wait for a delivery and Dr's call. The call was suppossed to be between 12-2 but came at 5.30! Apparently nothing to get worried about - calcium a little high but during course of conversation he said it was so little it could be called normal. My Dr is an idiot! So I have stopped taking the Calcium and Vit D tablets i have only just started taking! Parathyroid readings were fine which was a relief. So blood test in 2 weeks and carry on as usual! I didn't think there could be anything wrong with me apart from obsessive compulsive gardening!
So two other bits of news - my home coop has red mite - damn and bugger the little bastards! I did think it was amazing I had never carried them home from the allotment - but maybe they came in on Polly, Izzy and Henrietta? Well I took out all the bedding and sand which is supposed to help kill the mites - huh! - and spayed every surface - apart from the back as the coop is against the back wall and has a thick plastic sheet which was the roof of my old conservatory over the top to keep the rain off, and that is covered in plants, plus it was a drizzly day and not conducive to a massive move around. When the girls went to bed I checked the newspaper I had lined the coop with and there were the little buggers still! So I squished the obvious ones and took the paper out and burnt it in my chiminea. I shall do this every morning and evening along with spraying until I eradicate them! After inhaling the fumes from the water based spray I fear they may outlast me!! I might investigate getting an Eglu as this would be easier to clean, too many nooks and crannies to hide in with a wooden coop - plus it would be waterproof so no need of the ugly plastic covering! 
Last piece of news - the A frame for my chicken swing arrived!!!! Did I mention I bought the girls a swing?! Colourful Mai  FB me a video of it and so of course I had to have one! But then realised I would need an A frame - none being available to buy at a good price I bought a freestanding Folding Toddler String Garden Play Baby Swing With Safety Seat!!! I can't wait to take it to the plot and introduce the girls to swinging!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.