A Day of Remembrance...

Though we need to weep your loss,
You dwell in that safe place in our hearts,
Where no storm or night or pain can reach you.

Today we will hold a gathering of remembrance for my cousin's son who died a couple of weeks ago at the age of 52 of ALS.  He was the ring bearer at my first wedding back in 1969.  An adorable little boy.

I went to the pond yesterday to pick a water lily to bring in a small bowl as a token.  He practiced the Buddhist faith and I thought it was fitting.  It wasn't easy to get it since they don't grow right near the shore but that is also fitting.  I had to wade out to reach it.  Late in the day it closed up, as water lilies do, but this morning it is open again and beautiful...a metaphor of transformation and rebirth.

I am also bringing John O'Donohue's poem.  The final part is:

May you continue to inspire us:
To enter each day with a generous heart.
To serve the call of courage and love
Until we see your beautiful face again
In that land where there is no more separation,
Where all tears will be wiped from our mind,
And where we will never lose you again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.