New Shoes, New Book

Dear Diary,

Yesterday's gathering for remembrance was lovely but emotionally draining. My friend from Minnesota arrived late in the day and we went to dinner so I could unwind. My porch is another place I can "kick back" and relax...especially with a wonderful new book.

This is a biography of the amazing 19th century writer Margaret Fuller, a contemporary and friend of Emerson and Thoreau. It is a fascinating read. Historical biographies are a special interest of mine. There is nothing like an interesting new book and a quiet porch to make the world feel right.

Speaking of feeling right, my new shoes are breaking in nicely. Not as comfy yet as the old ones but they will get there I'm sure. The have a discrete trim of gold, not as over the top as the old ones but I like the style. Elaine and I are off to Portland today to beat the 90F heat predicted and to check out the latest exhibit at the Portland Museum of Art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.