Saucon Rail Trail ...

Red squirrel.

We had a quiet day at home today except for a quick trip to Saucon Rail Trail in Hellertown for a short walk. 

We really didn't expect to see any red squirrels so were surprised when we did!  The lighting was just plain awful so I was doubly surprised that this picture wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. 

Sad news today: We have one less chippy in our yard.  I found one floating in our water fountain this morning :-( 

He must have either gone in for a drink or fell in ... but either way he couldn't figure out how to get out.  I know these things happen but this makes me terribly sad. And I can't help feeling somewhat responsible.  I only wish it wasn't me that found him.  I'm sure that if R had found him first he wouldn't have even told me about it ... ignorance is bliss. 

It didn't feel right to just throw him in the trash so R buried him in the backyard with a peanut.  How fitting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.