Tasmania comes to Oban

I think this must be the only tree fern in Laurel Road, but whether or not it's the only tree fern in Oban I'm not sure!  If I'm wrong, maybe someone will put me right!

Dicksonia antarctica is native to SE Australia, including Tasmania, and enjoys damp, shady gullies. It was certainly at home at Arduaine Garden where it seeded - or rather spored - about like nobody's business!

This specimen was one of several given to me many years ago by my late friend Nigel Price, who at the time was Head Gardener at Brodick Castle Garden, later at Crarae Garden, and who died far too young. This fern was a self-sown specimen of many years standing when he dug it up for me, and having potted it and grown it in the conservatory, I decided to bring it with me to Oban. Others which he'd given me are still growing outside at Arduaine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.