Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Bug-loss and Lacewing Found

The 'Extra' is a Green Lacewing Larva (in the family Chrysopidae, probably Chrysoperla carnea).
I have never found one of these before and in fact I was unsure exactly what I had come across.  It took a bit of Googling to eventually identify it.
It was sitting on the flower-head of a (pinkish) yarrow.

My main blip is of the wild flower Viper's Bugloss - Echium vulgare.
Here, its beautiful blue is shown off to advantage against a backdrop of oxeye daisies.

TrikinDave blipped a rather good monochrome of the same plant yesterday.


The lacewing larva cannot really be said to be visually appealing so I made it my 'extra' so that the more pleasing image of the flower could command the thumbnail for today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.