Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Spotted

I was able to extend my weekend by another day and managed a decent walk on the moor in late afternoon.

In one spot I found two burnet moths. I uploaded photos of both individuals into iSpot, and one (this one) has been identified as a Six-spot, while the other has been labelled a Five-spot. I'm not enough of an expert to know whether it's usual to have the two types in the same spot. (There are probably too many "spots" in this paragraph.)

Identification aside, these are beautiful creatures, and it's nice to have them in the locale. I chose this image from several as the irridescence of the wings really comes through. The creeping thistle seems a popular food plant at the moment.

I also saw my first Small Skippers of the year, clinging onto to some wind-buffeted creeping thistle at the edge of the reservoirs. Here and there across the moor were isolated Small Heath and Ringlets and Skippers. I took a detour up Sconce Lane and on to Old Wood Lane in search of Wall butterflies that I'd seen there last summer, but it clouded over as I was walking and was really too chilly and dull for much butterfly activity.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.