Crisis Talks

A meeting in Edinburgh this morning, to discuss formation/revival of a campaign group in anticipation of stage 2 of the UK's current self inflicted existential crisis.

My route back to the station took me down Fleshmarket Close and past Jinglin' Geordie - a pub which has been there since the late 60s or early 70s. My group of friends used it quite often as the central location was handy.

Jinglin' Geordie was George Heriot's nickname. He was goldsmith to the Scottish king 350 years ago (or thereby). He used his wealth to set up what is now George Heriot's School in Edinburgh. It is now a fee paying school, but that only started in 1880. Until then it was 100% charitable.


I came across a little known link with Serbia recently which reminded me of the place's philanthropic origins.

Serbs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.