An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Bitter and Twisted...

Backblip


As this is a week of David's annual leave (we should be in France - boo hoo) we arranged to go out for dinner with Ele and Kenny (they're usually on holiday with us).  We weren't sure where to go as the best local places are closed on a Monday plus we doubted there would be much atmosphere in a restaurant on a Monday night. 

 We almost got a takeaway instead then this morning David remembered about the Tormaukin Hotel and booked a table for 7.45pm.  Ele and Kenny arrived at 5ish for pre-dinner drinks and a catch up.

David booked a local taxi to take us and expected a saloon car to arrive.  Turns out the taxi company was fully booked so they'd contacted another local firm to ask them to come instead.  So far so good except the driver turned up in a huge mini bus!  I couldn't stop laughing as I knew there was next to no chance I would be able to get into it.  But I was willing to try.

Cut to Ele, Kenny, David and the taxi driver all trying to get me into this mini bus.  The guy had a tiny step I could stand on but it was pouring rain and really slippery plus I could only get one foot on it and needed to get both feet on.

David went to the garage to get the step I stand on to get in Alan's wheelchair accessible car and I stood on it and had another go at getting in, this time bum first.  Still no go.  By this time we were all getting a bit damp.  I had a go at lifting one leg up then trying to hook my bum cheek over the passenger seat (very elegant) but it was hopeless.  My creaky hips just wouldn't let me do it plus I was being overly careful.  Couldn't bear the thought of twisting the wrong way.

We were just about to give up when the original taxi we'd ordered arrived at the gate.  We'd faffed around for so long, he's dropped his other fair and come to check we'd got picked up ok.  Now that's what I call service!

We climbed into his car and soon we were at our table in the very cosy hotel dining room, which was full and had a great atmosphere.  Who knew people go out on a Monday night?!  :-))

We had a delicious meal and a great night.  Kenny had a beer called Bitter and Twisted (it's made for him! :-))) and as we sat in the tiny bar afterwards having a night cap, I took a quick shot of the advert for the beer as I hadn't taken a single shot all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.