REED IN THE HARBOUR

My contribution to the Wild Wednesday challenge. Thanks to Cailleach for hosting this pretty challenge.
After the stone walls of the harbour had been restored and fresh water had been let in, it was an astonishing sight to see reed growing everywhere.
In the morning Piet Hein and I went to the hairdresser, and when it was his turn, I walked through town and saw the reed blown by the strong wind. A rather wild sight.
The swan family that had driven from the gharbour without water, had come back and made a nest. Three eggs are still lying in the nest.
The swans just changed places. I wonder if the eggs will hatch.
The last time they had raised a family had been five or even more years.
From five cygnets one had survived and a had been a sad sight father swan chasing his son around, and eventually the young one had landed in the Weser, from where he had disappeared after several days.

In the afternoon the dead wood was removed from our oak. It could have dangerous when a big branch would fall on our heads or on the road.
I worked in the garden, and am glad I finished what I had in mind to do.

My haiku:

It will be a real
Harbour again with real boats
Visiting town

And the proverb:

Thing hardly attained are longer retained.

1639 Clarke, 101.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.