Grow your own meat

It may sound like a joke but there are companies that can actually do this and they claim that lab grown meat will be commercially available within 5 years. I have mixed feelings about this, the idea of enjoying meat without the unnecessary suffering and slaughter of animals has got to be a good thing but on the other hand, it smacks of playing god and I'm not at all keen on eating something that is so unnatural a product - I mean this takes the idea of processed food to another level. If it was a cure for world hunger that would be a good thing but do I really believe that this is how it's going to be played out? Of course not, it is a commercial undertaking and the drive will be to maximise profits not to improve people's quality of life and then there's the question of what to do with all those unwanted cows, pigs and chickens. This will be one to watch I think.

Boys night last night. Smoke Shack, an American style restaurant selling over sized plates of poor quality food at extortionate prices. Need I say more. Roll on August Boy's night when we return to the Angels Share for whisky tasting and one of Harpreet's wife's lovely home cooked curries.

Oh, and before I go, Mick survived his medical procedure. It was someone he knew but that was almost a given. His only word on the subject was 'I don't know what all the fuss about gay sex is, it did nothing for me'. Thanks for that little insight Mick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.