Sad

I suspect this image requires more than a little explanation, so here goes.

Diana and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in 2008 and the family threw a surprise party for us round at Diana's parents house with friends and family gathered in the lounge when we thought we were just calling in to say hi to the folks. Luke was there (aged 19) with his then girlfriend but was not expected to stay the evening because a friend from school was having a party. I recall asking Luke during the course of the evening about the party and he told me it was for Thomas Rex (nickname T-Rex) and it was a going away party. I innocently asked where he was going and Luke reminded me that Thomas had terminal cancer. I didn't need any further clues to get the meaning of 'going away' party and indeed Thomas passed away just a few weeks later but I'm reminded today just how much that effected me back then. It played on my mind for weeks and I'm reminded today just how cruel the big C can be when it takes away the life of a child or a young adult. 

RIP young man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.