Down on The Drive

Vancouver, Day 6

Another sunny day today and it seemed like a good time to head over east, to Commercial Drive.

This is my 5th visit to Vancouver and of all the many things that have endeared the city to me over the years, Commercial Drive is one of my favourites.

It's the place to go if you're after independent coffee shops, veggie/vegan food and alternative lifestyles. Count me in on all three!

Spokes and I spent many hours there today mooching about in the shops and cafés and I'd particularly like to recommend Deserts, Continental Coffee, http://www.continental-coffee.ca and Café Deux Soleils http://www.cafedeuxsoleils.com - the last of which we're planning to go back to on Monday night for a poetry slam.

Back in 1988 I visited Vancouver with my friend SuMay https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2148015561588606511 and we had lots of happy times on The Drive - we even made a home movie, much of which featured us hanging out with a bunch of local lesbians at Joe's Café.

Joe's was also the scene of my first sighting of kd lang. She was at Number 1 in the Canadian album charts at the time with 'Shadowland', and there she was, playing pool with some pals at Joe's!! I was too star-struck to speak to her but the next day SuMay and I bumped into her again downtown and we did pluck up the courage to have a brief conversation. I even had my photo taken with her! Still, one of the highlights of my life.

There was no chance of seeing her again today as she's now living in Portland and, anyway, she's on the road, touring with Neko Case and Laura Veirs (I believe I may have mentioned how great their album is..!) Joe's Café was absolutely packed to the rafters with Portuguese football fans watching the match against Wales so we didn't go in. But I did take this picture of this guy sitting outside enjoying the sun.

This evening we cooked for the folks and then, it being such a beautiful evening, we all went out for a walk around Stanley Park's Brockton and Hallelujah Points.

Today's tune obviously has to be by the magnificent kd lang... Check out her great live version of 'What's New, Pussycat?' www.youtube.com/watch?v=DhojfORobHs (I saw her play at Liverpool Philharmonic on this particular tour and she was fabulous!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.