Since When Did Durex Make Bricks?

Nothing on the agenda today, which made me feel restless. I got up and hunted out a magic duster guaranteed to pick up all the dust from my tiled floors. I  particularly wanted to scratch away all the dust that accumulates at the intersection of walls and floors, the places which vacuum cleaners never reach. Len was a bit puzzled by this burst of activity.

Some excitement as a mother wood pigeon fed her squab on the garden fence. I was pleased that most of the photos were sharp, but they wouldn’t be accepted in competition because of the white of the windows in the background.

Then a bit of admin for this and that, notably for Gothla which is due to happen next weekend.

The day proved more sunny than expected. I took Basil in the car back to Stonehurst Farm in Mountsorrel where I was sure I had left the lens cap for my 150mm macro lens last Friday. It hadn’t been found but Basil and I sat in the sun while I enjoyed a pot of tea and a gluten free scone.

Before getting back in the car, we wandered up the path past the old petrol pumps to have a look a the activities offered by the farm. Young families were in great abundance as the farm offers animals to pet and feed, and a large barn with a rope swing. You jump down on to hay bales. 

I found this pile of named bricks by the path, each one presumably with a different origin. But Durex? I googled it on my return and found a website with photos of two samples, believed to have been made by Stanley Bros, Nuneaton.

Following which, we returned over the forest to Nanpantan Reservoir for a circuit of the water. Still too breezy for dragonflies and not really hot enough, but the parent grebes were being kept busy feeding their young. I didn’t get sharp shots.

Home to cook roast lamb for dinner. Basil appreciated the bone. Nothing on TV except the UAEFA cup final. I assume that we’re heading for a summer of repeats on the box.

One thing I will say about sport. Surely it’s better to watch gladiatorial combats between very fit, healthy people than to cheer on a combatant to his or her death, as in ancient Rome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.