The Weeping Window in Derby

Basil and I went to see The Weeping Window at Derby Silk Mill today. It had been part of the Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red installation at the Tower of London in 2014. 888,246 ceramic poppies were individually made to commemorate each of the British servicemen who died in the Great War of 2014-18. Most of the poppies were made in Derby, although factories in Stoke on Trent had to be pressed into service as the deadline for finishing the installation loomed nearer.

See the video on how the poppies were made. Each poppy is unique. After the installation finished at the Tower of London, poppies were made available for sale. I bought mine for £25. Two years later, a charity for servicemen was allowed to sell their allocation for £150 each to raise money for housing. There have been reports of poppies being offered for sale on eBay at £350.

Notices round the silk mill say that people are welcome to take photos or videos for personal use but that no photo should be sold commercially. That hasn't stopped some.

I sat down to enjoy a cool drink, and the heavens opened. Luckily I had my rain cape with me but getting it on was difficult so I did get wet. Basil was smart and nipped under the seat I was sitting on to get shelter. My thanks to the unknown lady who held Basil's lead while I was taking photos, before it rained.

Today's photo is of poppies in the rain with someone carrying a rather large golf umbrella walking by them.

Big bugbear today was at the velodrome at Pride Park. Basil had been allowed in with me when we were there in March. The only reason he got in with me today where we could sit and recuperate, was because I made a fuss with the manager. He won't be allowed in again.

Small album of today's photos on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.